You Know What I Hate?

Well, a lot of things. But on a regular basis, it seems? People on message boards for the TV recaps I read.

My routine is to check up on sites like EW and Vulture for the recaps of the shows I watch. It’s just a good way for me to make sure I didn’t miss anything. And with recappers like the guy who does Game of Thrones on EW, I enjoy the much-missed snark. Inevitably, though, after reading the recap, I’ll scroll down to the message board.

The comments are usually fine–different perspectives of the show and the characters that I might not have noticed. But then there are the Gushers. They say things like her “performance was like sunshine on earth.” “If he doesn’t get an Emmy for his super fantastic appearance there is something wrong with this world we live in.” “Kudos to [so-and-so] and all of the creators because everything was top-notch tonight.”

I don’t know why these Gushers aggravate me so; I guess because I have never liked “happy” people. They’re annoying. What are you so happy for?

Kidding. Sorta. Overly-bubbly people who have to gush about the actors every single time are just wasting space. I highly doubt the Emmy voters are trolling message boards to see what regular people think of the performances. So, can we tone it down with all the extra sweet bubble gum-coated passion? It doesn’t add anything of value to the conversation. Thank you, goodbye. Now, I’m off to read about Bates Motel‘s season finale, whose boards are always filled with kudos and heart emoticons for the actors and creative team. I should actually be working but whatever.

2 thoughts on “You Know What I Hate?

  1. My current pet peeve: spare me from the crystal ball commenters and columnists, wannabe tv writers, and their storyline “predictions”. I can’t wait for Mad Men to conclude, so these people and their indulgent personal theories and insightful predictions for character outcomes and final story twists can just…shut…up. Their predictions are almost always wrong. The navel gazing is endless, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment