Distracted or Tapped Out?

I’ve been working on my latest story, only titled “Cassie” at the moment. But I’m stuck. Again. I had to finally throw my hands up and turn over the most recent scene to my writing group because I can’t look at it any longer. I hate this restless feeling. I’ve even tried looking into my Bitten series, since that still has two more books left to complete. I’ve contemplated shortening them into one book in the past, and now I’m thinking of doing that again. It’s hard to see the big picture sometimes when you’re working with a series. What’s the endgame? What’s important? I have several events occur that might actually not even be important for the characters. One of my biggest complaints about series is filler. I’d hate to fall into that trap. But as I pull up Book Four I find my mind glazing over… and then the Internet pops up and I’m reading endless entertainment articles instead of writing (or doing work, for that matter).

I know that this is one of those times when I need to step back, put down my pen (metaphorically speaking), and clear my head. I’m hoping to distract myself by working on the new covers for Bitten. I like learning Photoshop, even though it’s time-consuming. And my DVR is bursting with shows I need to watch. I can only hope that this rut I’m in will be a short one.

Leave a comment